Breaking Out the Classics

17 Feb

I love video games. Well, at least I used to love them.

Last week, I found myself in a Best Buy, and was forced into playing Rock Band on Xbox 360. Even though I had endured four years of college, I somehow managed to skip partaking in the popular musical instrument/video game fusion. However, I found Rock Band to be exactly as I expected—extremely stupid. My tenure as the drummer in an AC/DC cover band lasted only a minute, as I collapsed on the floor laughing at the lunacy of hitting sticks again a plastic pad every so often just to earn points. I thought to myself, “Do people seriously like this crap?” The answer of course is, “Yes,” and I am surely in the minority with my dislike.

But it did remind me of how I used to love video games, when they were a bit more simplistic, yet still much more stimulating. Over my 22 years on Earth, I have owned an Original Nintendo, Sega Genesis, Nintendo Gameboy, Sega Saturn, Sega Dreamcast, Playstation, Playstation 2, and probably a few others here and there. After selling off the majority of my collection, I was left with just my Original Nintendo and Sega Genesis. And good riddance.

I have some of my fondest childhood memories taking on Piston Honda, Don Flamenco, Great Tiger, Bald Bull, and many others in Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!! on Original Nintendo or gearing up against my older brother, wielding the mighty Toronto Blue Jays in Sports Talk Baseball on Sega Genesis. I know most people would rather turn in all of their old video games for just a chance to play the new ones, but I personally don’t understand why.

Is there anything more thrilling than facing Mike Tyson face-to-face (note: when Tyson’s eyes light up, it means he’s going to attack you with his Dynamite punch)?

Is there anything more amusing than sticking Mookie Wilson at catcher (just to get him in the lineup) or plucking a rookie Mo Vaughn off your bench as a 9th inning pinch-hitter?

There is no denying that the new video games have the graphics, depth, and minimal defects the old ones lack, yet there is still something surreal about the old that continually compels me to reconnect them, blow the dust out of their cartridges, and re-play my childhood for hours on end.

One Response to “Breaking Out the Classics”

  1. Elevate February 18, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    Duck hunt skeet shoot.

Leave a Reply

